October 20, 2011

  • GOD. IS. GOOD. PERIOD.

    Oh what a day. Oh what a week! God is good. God is soooo good. I cannot say it enough. GOD IS SO GOOD!!!

    So I woke up Tuesday morning and did not feel well. I ended up not going to work Tuesday or Wednesday. As much as a blessing being out from work was because I got to spent more time reflecting and praying about all that's been happening, it was also terrible. I just felt nasty because of whatever I caught. I think it was a result of allergies.. which I still refuse to completely believe, but it's what everyone is telling me. Anyway, my throat was killing me so last night I begged God to just take it away. I woke up this morning praising Him because it was as if it was never even there! I'm still congested though, but that's fine. haha.. 

    Anyhoo, back on track. God is good. He's good because He freed Sandy's mom, because He healed me and because of what He did for me at work today.

    After our weekly prayer meeting at work, I felt compelled to inform my bossed what I'm going through so I started writing an email. I shared how I believed God was calling me to something, to full-time ministry, but that I wasn't sure what that meant yet.  I told them I would probably be leaving within the year to move to Queens and probably work somewhere else, but how soon I did not know. I was so scared. I didn't know how my bossed would take it. I ended up only emailing the head of the department who I know has a really good understanding of how God works. I decided not to email my direct supervisors yet. It probably took me a good 15 minutes to actually scrounge up enough courage to press "send" and probably longer if you count how many times I read and re-read that email too. lol...

    So I ended up sending the email just a little before 3:50pm. Work hours end at 4pm. I sat at my computer waiting anxiously, paying close attention to any sound I heard coming from outside my office. Then suddenly I heard something. It sounded like someone walking towards my office. I braced myself. Sure enough, the head of my department walks into the door. She looks at me and smiles almost as if to laugh or chuckle. I stand up to greet her. She just jumps right into it telling me how her first reaction was "oh no" but then quickly it changed to "wow, this is great news!" and that as she was writing back to me she decided to just come talk to me in person. I love this woman. She is definitely a woman of God. She and her husband are such inspirations to me as Christian role models. Anyway, as she's sharing with me her thoughts and encouraging me, I couldn't help but just break out into tears. She opened her arms and we hugged it out for a bit. I was sooooooooooo relieved... and then it hit me...

    I looked at her and nervously asked, "Soo... uhh... what do we do about Keri and Reggie? How do I tell them?" Keri and Reg are my direct supervisors. It was originally just Keri, the art director, but then a while ago they split up some of us in the department so that Reggie (associate art director) could alleviate some supervisory duties for Keri and become the direct supervisor for some of us instead. Anyway, the point is I had to tell the two of them eventually too. We both looked at each other unsure of how to tell them or when. I ended up telling her I was fine to tell them whenever she thought best so after standing there for a bit trying to decide she says "let's just go now" and we went. As we walked down the hallway past the other offices, Linda (head), called Keri and Reg into her office as I followed behind. They sat around the table in her office and I remained standing to share what I had just shared with Linda. To my surprise, and Linda's as well, no one freaked out! I was so sure someone was going to get nervous and freak out, but no one did. Amazing. They were all so supportive of me. It was incredible. God really is good!! I'm telling ya!

    So we spent some time just talking about things and I shared that I would be happy to help out whenever they needed it and that I would do whatever they wanted in order to make the transition easier on everyone. I didn't want to make things more difficult for them. They had been so good to me so it was the least I could do. I am SOOOOOO blessed to have gotten this job at the Salvation Army. SO BLESSED. I cannot even express how much. To be able to work with people who I can also consider brothers and sisters in Christ? To know that they understand the difference between the will of the world and the will of the Father? WOW. For them to support me in this? I guess I shouldn't be surprised, but I still am! I mean... it was just support from all around. "God is Able". That's what Keri kept saying. Even if I had to leave sooner rather than later, "God would provide." Speechless. Amazing.

    GOD IS GOOD. Bottom line. GOD IS GOOD.

    So this I consider another step of faith taken, and another step in this new journey confirmed by the Lord. I know it's not always going to be easy like this, but my goodness... why do you spoil me so, God? lol.. I'm slowly learning not to be so afraid. I'm sure I will still be at least, but it's slowly fading.. I think. haha.. More at peace with whatever the outcomes will be at least. But after a week like this week? After a month like this month? Praising God for being ever faithful and for being REAL. 

    God is real. God is love. God is good.

    --

    Love You. You are certainly more than enough for me.

Recent Posts

Categories